Help - Search - Members
Full Version: corrupted CCleaner install
Piriform Forums > Piriform Software > CCleaner Discussion
pedro31fr
Hi

I was looking on google for CCleaner and one of the first link I found (a commercial one) was : www.cleanersoft.net .

They propose to download an exe to instal CCleaner but, when you execute it, after a few "instal screen" they ask you for a code that you can get by sending 2 sms (GSM messages, I don't know the english word), and of course these sms cost money ; not much money so far (1 or 2 €) but that's obviously a swindle and I don't think this is legal as long as you (Piriform) provide this wonderfull tool for free.

I don't know what you can do against these mother....ers but it's not the first time i see this kind of things with freeware ; and that makes me sick^^

cya
hazelnut
I have reported this to MrG the developer.

Thanks for posting about this.
Keithuk
Welcome to Piriform Pedro.

QUOTE (pedro31fr @ Sep 2 2008, 07:01 PM) *
I was looking on google for CCleaner and one of the first link I found (a commercial one) was : www.cleanersoft.net .


Well I don't know whats wrong with your browser but when I google just CCleaner the first site is always

1) http://www.CCleaner.com

2) http://www.CCleaner.com/download/builds/downloading-slim

3) http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/

4) http://www.download.com/CCleaner/3000-2144_4-10315544.html

5) http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,...escription.html

I would only trust http://www.CCleaner.com and http://www.filehippo.com

There is no mension of www.cleanersoft.net, now this is www.google.co.uk wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.